So I’m staring out my window at into the most amazing blue sky listening to Radio 1’s big weekend. I can smell a barbeque and can hear people drinking and laughing because they are lucky enough to have finished their exams, either that or they have given up. I should be revising about corporate insolvency law. To be honest, I can’t stand law and it’s the last thing I want to do. I hate revision and I’m bored out my tree.
Bombay Bicycle Club have just finished and they were as good as ever; now I’m listening to Pete Tong vs Vernon Kay. Tong is wiping the floor with him to be honest as expected obviously, but we all love Vern don’t we? 🙂

I want to be in the sunshine at a festival! I keep catching the festival bands wrapped around my wrist out the corner of my eye and I smile at the most amazing memories attached to each of them.

On the other hand Cheryl Cole has just started singing ‘Fireflies’ by Owl City. Maybe I’m not missing out too much.

It’s incredible how much music can change your mood, and how much not knowing what to listen to can bring your mood right down. It’s amazing when that one song comes on the radio or on your iPod and it just lifts you more than anyone’s hugs or words can. Whether it’s an 80’s power ballad which gets you dancing around your room into a hairbrush or a huge drum and bass number which results in you screaming and jumping around like an idiot or even something slow and uplifting like Tracy Chapman’s ‘Fast Car’, there is one song out there which one person just gets. You can’t explain it, but that particular song speaks volumes. And your best friend may think the song is crap or the lyrics are shit, but who cares? These songs are so personal, it doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks, fuck ’em all.
Here are the 3 songs which make me smile, even when I’m at my lowest point. I just can’t get enough of them.

Jump In The Pool – Friendly Fires

Dominoes – The Big Pink

Golden Brown – The Stranglers

The sun is still out. I’m still inside. Revision sucks arse, but at least I’ve got a smile on my face now…

Rx